 |
|
 |
|
jokergreen0220
Geregistreerd op: 11 Sep 2019 Berichten: 919
|
|
 |
|
 |
|
Geplaatst: 20-03-2020 09:04:21 Onderwerp: Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enfo |
|
|
Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry wants to answer your emails at cmonref@tsn. Custom Carolina Hurricanes Jerseys .ca. Hi Kerry, Im sure your InBox is flooded with questions about the Alex Burrows hit to the head that should have been five and a game for a late hit, but I think everyone knows that the refs blew that call and a suspension should follow. My question is about your thoughts on the overtime in the Montreal-Vancouver game. The refs called an interference penalty on Tom Gilbert, which was deserved as he threw a pick. However, what goes through a refs head when during that power play for Vancouver - the Canucks throw not one, but two picks, that both officials clearly see and choose not to call them? What goes through a refs head when he chooses to purposely not call two obvious penalties that would have changed the outcome of the game? Thanks, Josh --- Big fan of the posts but an even bigger fan of your work on the ice. As an official, I thought the refs had it right with Tom Gilberts pick. It looked like Vancouver may have set two themselves! Id love to read what you have to say! Thanks, Cal Josh and Cal: Alex Burrows should get some time off without pay to think about why he would dare make such a late, high hit from a poor slide-through angle that resulted in significant contact to the head of Alexei Emelin. There was no call on the play as both referees were guilty of puck watching after Emelins pass through the neutral zone was picked off by Nick Bonino. Both refs focused on the change of puck possession at the red line and got their wires crossed as to who should remain focused on a potential finishing check. We will await a decision by the Player Safety Committee on this dangerous and careless illegal check to the head. While Im okay with the refs decision to penalize Tom Gilbert once he set a moving pick by going East-West against Alexander Edler, two separate picks on the ensuing power-play set by Radim Vrbata and then Kevin Bieksa were every bit deserving of a penalty call; if not more so. The infractions took place in open ice where both referees would have had a clear view of the play. So why were no armbands raised; not once but twice? It appeared to me that the referees became stubborn when they detected some attempts at salesmanship by the Montreal players to get the call. The picks were legitimate as contact was deliberately initiated by the Vancouver players in open ice. Any minor theatrics that might have taken place following the illegal picks was not worthy of keeping the whistle in the holster; especially with Gibert serving a penalty for the same infraction. I am also sure there was some conscious thought process not to be perceived as whistling the dreaded make-up call. Common sense and sound judgment should have overridden both of these debilitating thought processes to whatever degree they existed in the mind of either referee. I fully endorse every effort to eradicate embellishment from the game. The referees have been instructed to make diving/embellishment a focus of emphasis as we have seen in this young season. However, with a four on three situation in OT that created plenty of open space on the ice this was not the appropriate time to become either stubborn or attempt teach players a lesson about theatrics. Vrbata dished the puck from the top right faceoff circle to Edler in the middle. Tomas Plekanec fronted Edler from a distance as the lone Habs high defender on the PK formation. As Edler walked the puck toward the right side Vrbata skated directly at Plekanec, who was attempting to mirror the movement of the puck carrier. Vrbata initiated direct and deliberate contact with the Montreal defender. To restate; there was plenty of ice for Vrbata to take without bumping into Plekanec. The deliberate contact initiated by Vrbata detained Plekanec from moving freely in his attempt to remain in front of Edler and establish position in the shot-block lane. A momentary stall/pause was then followed by a reaction from Plekanec as his body rotated and dropped to one knee. I see this as any easy call to make and both referees should have raised their arm the instant that contact was initiated. Any subsequent reaction from Plekanec was minimal and of no consequence to the infraction committed by Vrbata on the power-play. Not long afterward, with 49 seconds remaining in the power-play, Bieksa retrieved the puck at his blue line with Manny Malhotra in pursuit. Bieksa retreated into the Canuck end zone as Malhotra backed off toward center ice. Bieksa started up ice, dropped the puck for Chris Higgins who swooped in from behind, and then proceeded to run a perfect one-man Flying V to engage and contact Malhotra at the red line! Malhotra was attempting to intercept Higgins by moving laterally to his right but was taken out by Bieksas body contact and stick restraint. I can only suspect that the subsequent left leg swoop that Malhotra utilized might have given the referees a false impression of the play. I know Manny Malholtra to be an extremely honest player; hes as honest as the day is long! This deliberate interference, initiated by Kevin Bieksa, was more worthy of a penalty than the two previous picks set by Gilbert and Vrbata. With five seconds remaining in Tom Gilberts interference penalty, Daniel Sedin deposited the puck behind Carey Price for the OT power play winner. Carolina Hurricanes Store . PAUL, Minn. Hurricanes Jerseys China . -- The way Ted Ligety carved into turns looked so easy. https://www.cheaphurricanes.com/ . The 27-year-old hit .209 in 86 at-bats last year after missing the 2010 season following surgery to repair a torn labrum in his right shoulder.MELBOURNE, Australia - Third-seeded Simona Halep advanced to the fourth round of the Australian Open with a 6-4, 7-5 win Friday over Bethanie Mattek-Sands.Halep twice served for the match at 5-2 and 5-4 but Mattek-Sands broke back each time.But Halep broke the American in the next game, then finally clinched the match with her third attempt on serve. Carolina Hurricanes Shirts. Halep, the 2014 French Open finalist, opened the season by winning the Shenzhen Open in China. She was a quarterfinalist at last years Australian Open.She will next play Yanina Wickmayer of Belgium, who beat No. 14-seeded Sara Errani of Italy earlier Friday. ' ' ' |
|